Mz80-A no cursor

Post Reply
gibant1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 3:55 am

Mz80-A no cursor

Post by gibant1 » Sat Sep 05, 2020 8:38 pm

Hi, I have just purchased an Mz80-A, When I turn it on it shows ** MONITOR SA-1510 **

Unfortunately, there's no cursor and no keys register onscreen. Any help you could give would be appreciated. Thank you.

User avatar
mz-80a
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:46 am
Location: Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Mz80-A no cursor

Post by mz-80a » Sun Sep 06, 2020 9:31 am

Has the machine been modified at all?
MZ-80A Secrets
https://mz-80a.com/

Sharpworks (Sharp MZ homebrew)
http://mz-sharpworks.co.uk/

gibant1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 3:55 am

Re: Mz80-A no cursor

Post by gibant1 » Sun Sep 06, 2020 10:54 am

It looks stock to me comparing it to images off the internet.

psmart
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:12 am
Location: Leeds
Contact:

Re: Mz80-A no cursor

Post by psmart » Sun Sep 06, 2020 5:07 pm

No cursor normally means the initialisation hasn't completed, either because it made a jump to User ROM, Floppy ROM or the DRAM is corrupt.

Check to see if there is a User ROM installed (ROM or RAM), remove it if so. If there is a Floppy interface connected then unplug that (this is normally only available if you have the I/O expansion box installed at the back). If the monitor ROM startup detects a ROM at 0xE800 or 0xF000 then it will make the jump, if no ROM is installed in these locations it could be possible that a buffer (74LS245) is going faulty but I doubt you would get the startup banner if that was the case.

If no ROMS are installed then try unseating all the DRAM and plugging it back in (all of it is socketed). They are static sensitive so need to watch out your not wearing a woolly jumper. Do this for all the other socketed chips, ie. IC31/20 Gate Arrays, Monitor ROM etc just in case of bad contacts.
The 8255 PPI chip is responsible for scanning the keyboard and for detecting the cursor flash timer interval so this could be another potential candidate to unseat and reseat. It could also go faulty!

It is possible for the Monitor ROM to have 'aged' thus losing parts of the monitor program, I tried to use my CGROM Eprom a few days ago and some bytes have gone the way of the dodo.

The service manual is located here: https://original.sharpmz.org/mz-80a/download/80asm.pdf - so may be worth a read if the above doesn't help.

gibant1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 3:55 am

Re: Mz80-A no cursor

Post by gibant1 » Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:22 pm

Thank you for your help, I will try this week and update you on my findings. Much appreciated.

S_U_C
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:41 pm

Re: Mz80-A no cursor

Post by S_U_C » Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:20 am

I had a similar fault on a MZ80K.
I was the flash timer is not working.
The K used a 555 timer and the MZ80A uses a 556 (IC51)+ caps C39,C40

On the A the start up order is
the setup
clear screen print
** MONITOR SA-1510 **
test for he USER ROM/RAM at $E800 (IC43 next to the Monitor ROM)
print Newline
print *
get input

It is stuck in an endless loop getkey/ test flash timer.
This may be the 556 timer IC51 or the 8255 IC50 not working so not seeing the 556.

hlide
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:31 pm

Re: Mz80-A no cursor

Post by hlide » Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:25 am

So if there is no prompt "*" on the next line of "** MONITOR SA-1510 **", the issue won't be the 556/8255. Correct?

psmart
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:12 am
Location: Leeds
Contact:

Re: Mz80-A no cursor

Post by psmart » Thu Oct 08, 2020 7:53 pm

Just catching up, my hypothesis earlier seems more relevant if it is not the 556 timer, ie. it is believing there is a rom at $E800 or $F000 and making a jump to this location. If there is no ROM in the User ROM socket or an FDC card installed then without a scope it will be difficult to locate, it could be a device is becoming active when it shouldnt, but as the User ROM shares the same 245 bidir databus driver the machine wouldnt start up if this was faulty. If an address line is sticking then it could point to a 244 driver (I had to replace one on my m/board), but to be honest, without more information, it is only guess work as to the fault.

Did you manage to unseat and reseat all the socketed IC's?

Post Reply